Welcome to Debbie’s Den Leader Doodles

Attention Adult Scouters:  If you’re not having fun in Scouting, you’re not doing it right! 

My name is Debbie Spohn, and I’ve been training den leaders for . . . well, let’s just say ‘a long time’.  I’m always on the lookout for ideas that make the job of den leader less stressful and more fun – for the adults AND for the Scouts.  Over the coming weeks, I’ll be posting some snippets of wisdom gathered through trial and error with real boys at real den meetings.  This blog is not designed to be a one-way lecture; I’d love to hear from leaders about ideas that work for you.  Remember: imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

So here goes my first blog topic – Helping Cub Scouts learn the twelve points of the Scout Law.

For general reference, a Cub Scout is between 5-10 years old; a Boy Scout is between 10 and 18 years old – same organization, just grouped by age.  In 2015, the Boy Scouts of America made a policy decision that changed Cub Scouting dramatically.  For the first time in our 100+ year history, all Boy Scouts from Tiger rank (first graders) to Eagle (anywhere from age 13 to 18) now have the same Oath and Law, as follows:  A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.  These are words that don’t occur often in the conversation of a 7-year-old.  What to do, you ask?

While thinking of ways to help Cub Scouts learn what these important-sounding words mean, I wrote this poem.  It was originally presented as a skit by 12 Scouts, each reading one verse while displaying a sign showing the corresponding point of the Law.

THE SCOUT LAW

I’m a Cub Scout, and you’ll see

I’m as trustworthy as can be.

I’m loyal to my den and pack,

Don’t worry guys, I’ve got you’re back,

I’m helpful, too, as you can see,

Need something done?  Just call on me.

A Scout is friendly, See someone new?

Shake hands and say, “How do you do?”

A Scout is courteous, so we say,

Please, Thanks, and Excuse me, right away.

Be kind to animals large or small,

On two legs or four, we take care of them all.

Following directions is the Cub Scout way,

A Scout is obedient every day.

See this smile?  It’s here to stay.

A Scout is cheerful at work and play.

Learning to save our money is nifty,

Watching those pennies is called being thrifty.

A Scout is brave in the face of danger,

Face down this bully, don’t talk to that stranger.

A clean Scout washes his hands and face,

And keeps friendly words in their proper place.

Being reverent means that we like to show

We’re thanking God wherever we go.

It makes a nice opening or closing for a Pack meeting.

Well, there you have it – my first blog.  Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Welcome to Debbie’s Den Leader Doodles

  1. I really enjoyed learning what the Scout motto is. Never knew it. I wished I had been a girl scout as a kid, but it was not on the agenda. These lessons one learns early in life can help a child be a decent adult. Thanx for your participation and enthusiasm. I learned something!

    Like

Leave a Reply

